Menu

Public Holidays - your entitlements

3 February 2020

The laws around public holidays enititlements can be confusing. Here are the main points.

  • You get a paid day off on public holidays if it’s an otherwise working day for you. If you work on a public holiday you’re paid time and a half, and may get an alternative day off.
  • You can get a maximum of 11 public holidays a year
  • You can’t be entitled to more than four public holidays over the Christmas and New Year period, regardless of your work pattern
  • You can only claim one anniversary day per year.
  • You can only be made to work on a public holiday if:

- it falls on a day on which you would have otherwise worked, and

- your employment agreement says you have to work on the public holiday.

  • If you would normally have worked on the Saturday/Sunday, the public holiday is observed on the Saturday/Sunday
  • If you would not normally have worked on the Saturday/Sunday, the public holiday is observed on the following Monday/Tuesday

Key Public Holiday dates in 2020 (observed)

New Year’s Day – Wednesday 1st January

Day after New Year’s Day – Thursday 2nd January

Waitangi Day - Thursday 6th February

Good Friday - Friday 10th April

Easter Monday - Monday 13th April

Anzac Day - Monday 27 April (actual 25th April)

Queen’s Birthday - Monday 1st June

Labour Day - Monday 26th October

Christmas Day – Friday 25th December

Boxing Day – Monday 28th December (actual Saturday 26th December)